Countdown to the ISAF Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards


With one week to go, there is much anticipation about the ISAF Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards recognising the achievements of the world's best sailors over the course of the last year.

Ranging from the most challenging round the world races and record breaking attempts, to highly competitive Olympic class racing, the ISAF Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards acknowledge unparalleled commitment, perseverance and accomplishment.

Since their inception in 1994, the trophy has proudly accumulated the names of the most revered athletes in the sport of sailing across a full spectrum of disciplines. This year is no exception and the results will only be revealed at the exclusive ceremony, a gathering of the key players within the world of sailing.

The ISAF Member National Authorities (MNAs), the national governing bodies for sailing, have begun casting their votes to determine which male and female nominees are most deserving of these prestigious awards. The final vote will take place on the night of the awards (Tuesday, 10 November 2015) at the Hotel Kempinski in Sanya, China.

The 2015 nominees for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are as follows:

Peter Burling & Blair Tuke (NZL)
Loick Peyron (FRA)
Giles Scott (GBR)
Ian Walker (GBR)
Ian Williams (GBR)

Sarah Ayton (GBR)
Sam Davies (GBR)
Elena Kalinina (RUS)
Lotte Meldgaard Pedersen (DEN)
Charline Picon (FRA)